The Mississippi Supreme Court on Thursday denied the petitions of Mississippi State football players Leo Lewis and Kobe Jones for interlocutory appeals in the Rebel Rags lawsuit. The players were seeking severance and a transfer of venue. That means the case will proceed in Lafayette County, where Rebel Rags is located.

A.J. Brown has been the Southeastern Conference’s best receiver all season. Now the Ole Miss standout has the distinction of Mississippi’s best, too. Brown on Tuesday won the C Spire Conerly Trophy, which is awarded annually to the state’s most outstanding college football player. He’s the second straight Ole Miss player